Depression and Suicide

A few weeks ago, the topic of depression somehow came up in my psychology class. And you will not believe when I say that my psychology teacher said that depression is a choice. A PSYCHOLOGY teacher said that! I really don’t understand how people don’t understand that depression is not a choice, it’s a mental illness. No one wants to be depressed and you can’t just “get over it”.

And what is up with people using depressed as an alternative to the words sad or upset. You can be sad/upset about something but you are not depressed, you are not mentally ill, unless you actually are. So please please don’t say “i’m so depressed” in everyday conversations. It makes people who are actually suffering feel like their problems are not important enough. It probably makes them feel worse. Talk about depression, but please don’t joke about it. depression is not an feeling but an illness.

And suicide is not something to joke about. And it is not cowardly. It is something you do out of desperation, when you see no way out. Not because you are a coward or not brave enough. It’s not an easy decision for people who decide to kill themselves. They are hurting, they are hurting really bad, and this seem to be the only option left for them. Please don’t treat it as a joke.Please.

Day 21 – 15 Favorite Songs

I love music and it is really difficult to choose my favorite songs. Music helps when I am sad or angry or happy or in love or anything. It always always helps. My favorite songs usually keep changing but here are a few that I really really like.

1. Today has been okay – By Emiliana Torrini

2. Sweater weather – By The Neighbourhood

3. I always knew – By The Vaccines

4. Lean on – By Major Lazor

5. Mine – By Taylor Swift

6. Summertime Sadness – By Lana Del Ray

7. Take me to Church – By Hozier

8. Ho Hey – By The Lumineers (actually  I like a lot of songs By the Lumineers)

9. Ain’t no  Sunshine – By Bill Withers

10. It ends tonight – By The All American rejects

11. True colors – By Cindy Lauper

12. Chasing Cars – By Snow Patrol

13. Stay with me – By Sam Smith

14. I’m not the only one – By Sam Smith

15. Hero – By superchick

And sorry, but I have to add one more…

16. Macarena – By Los del Rio

Other songs I like include all songs from the movie Juno, Songs by Nirvana, Arctic monkeys, The vaccines, Lorde and many many more.

I did another post about music earlier and you can find that here.