Pride 2016

I went for my first ever Queer pride parade this Sunday and it was amazing. I’ve never seen something like that.

So many happy, not straight/cis people coming together to celebrate, laugh, have fun but also to demand equality and justice! Music, dance, rainbows, balloons, colour, hearts, masks, makeup. It was just so happy. I felt like I belonged.

The day started with me and my friend reaching the spot and meeting a few people. Then I got a mask cuz I didn’t want people knowing who I was. Post that we got balloons and flags and buttons and it was so much fun. A lot of people from my college were there so we formed a little group and hung out together. Screaming, laughing, singing and dancing. There was a huge rainbow flag and we danced under it and we screamed slogans and ‘freedom’ and it was amazing. I couldn’t stop laughing. I don’t think I can do justice to the events of that day by just writing about it so I’m putting up some pictures here! 

 

                                                                                       
   

After the parade ended, we all went to get some food which was a lot of fun too and then headed back. Basically I was out from 11am to like 8 30 pm.

Probably the only bad things about the day were that I had a mini panic attack and someone asked me about the scars on my arms. Besides that, the day was amazing! I was quite happy tbh! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Pride 2016

  1. I’m so happy for you being able to celebrate Pride in your country. It looks so magical, and you’re inspiring me to do the same (haven’t been to one yet!). Perhaps I’ll make it my goal to do one, either in Europe or back in L.A.!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

