Privilege

I just realized something. I am a very privileged member of the LGBT+ community. Don’t get me wrong, homosexuality is still kinda illegal here but I’m talking about just within the LGBT community.

I come from an upper middle class family and could afford to go to an international school. Because of that, I came across people who were more accepting. I have access to the internet from where I can learn various LGBT related things. I have ways such as social media to get my voice heard and all of this is amazing.

But it makes me think of people who aren’t as privileged as me. There are so many homeless people, poverty stricken people in our country. I can’t help but feel like being LGBT would be more difficult for them. I’m not saying this in a pitying way, but Idk, I guess I’m just acknowledging the privilege I have.

I really don’t have much to say here, I’m still trying to understand this better but I really recommend reading this article here that got me thinking.

Leave a Reply

