Easter

So I know that Easter was a couple of days back but I had no time to write then so I’m just going to write about it now. I don’t really celebrate Easter at all. Except this one tiny tradition that we used to have. A friend of my mom’s used to send us an Easter egg full of candy and chocolate and other stuff. Unfortunately, she was killed in a terrorist attack in Kabul in May 2015. And I miss her.

I’ve been thinking about her a lot in the past few days as Easter just went by. She was an amazing woman. Strong, kind and so caring. She helped my mom out a lot when she was going through a tough time with the divorce and shit, she gave me her daughter’s old clothes and stuff when we didn’t want to spend money on buying new clothes cuz mom had to pay for other more important things instead, she always without fail sent us an Easter egg on Easter! She was amazing. She worked for an NGO and did a lot of research on Gender issues which is so amazing.

When I was younger, we started this thing where we used to email back and forth about updates on our lives. She would tell me where she was travelling and I would tell her all about school. As time went by the emailing became less frequent but it still happened and idk for the past few days I’ve just been really wanting to write her an email and tell her stuff but I can’t and I hate that :/

Anyway, the point of this post was kind of to tell everyone how amazing she was and that I miss her!

 

6 thoughts on “Easter

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss, which I know doesn’t express anything but I’m honestly so upset that she had to die that way. When you hear about terrorist attacks, you see the death toll but never actually connect it with the real people. I’m glad that you had some lovely memories with her, she seemed like an amazing woman ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

