Periods and prom dates

So today was kinda like the unofficial last day for us 12th graders. Like officially we’re still supposed to go but most people aren’t going to show up after this. We have prom in the first week of April and I’ve kinda been thinking of asking someone and I decided to do it today.

My friends kept asking me if I would ask this girl, S who I’m really good friends with so I finally decided to do it. So all day I kept trying to do it but I’d always chicken out. Then I thought that I would ask her in the lesson before lunch or in lunch but I couldn’t find her anywhere. Then in the next lesson, I had History and so I told my teacher I had to go to the washroom and I went to find S. Someone told me that she would be in the library. And so I went and got a slip to go to the medical centre and then I went to the library to find her. I found her and asked if she would go to the medical centre with me cuz I didn’t want to go alone. So she agreed.

So we went and I got a sanitary pad. And like I am having my periods currently but I didn’t need to actually get a pad but I needed an excuse to talk to her.

So I started talking about prom and about prom dresses and all that. Then finally I gave her a tiny pop-up card and asked – would you do me the honor of going to prom with me? And she immediately said yes! so that was great and so I have a date to prom!

Then we were just walking and she said she needs to use the washroom and so I walked her there but I had to run for class so I told her I’d talk to her later and I left. It was all very nice. I’m so glad I asked her. πŸ™‚

Then I went back to class and told my teacher that I went to the medical centre and he asked why? So I said that I started my period and I needed a pad and he said okay. I don’t get why people are so embarrassed about periods and have to hide pads and stuff. And ugh, I have bad cramps but oh well.

The only tiny downside of today was that for some reason I decided to tell my mom that I had a date to prom and she just went all like “but it’s a girl date” in like a mean way and like she doesnt really know that im not straight but eh, I don’t care. A friend of mine asked if I was planning on coming out to my sister anytime soon but I just said no!

Anyway, I’m really happy with my date for prom!!

19 thoughts on “Periods and prom dates

  1. WOO, congrats! Good on you for building the courage to ask her, hopefully your mum will be more understanding in the future. Have fun and enjoy ze amazingness at prom! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

