Goodbye

Today I said goodbye to someone very important in my life. This woman has been a huge support in our lives and helped my mother out a lot during her divorce. I have written about her earlier here. She passed away yesterday in the Taliban attack at a guesthouse in Kabul where she was staying. You can read more about it here – https://in.news.yahoo.com/taliban-attack-targeting-indian-envoy-kills-14-indian-163618149.html

She was in Kabul for some work and she was part of an NGO called PRIA. She was someone who was always ready to help out anyone with their troubles and lend a hand to anyone in need. She was also someone who would always speak for the rights of human beings and was very interested in gender studies and gender equality.

My mother used to work with her long back, around 8 years back. This was the time that my mother was going through the divorce and she helped us out so much. She helped my mother get a lawyer free of cost because she did not have enough money to pay for one. She gave us her daughter’s old clothes for me and my sister because we could not afford to buy them. She was a pillar of strength for my mother during that time. I cannot believe that I will never see her again. I had not met her for the past 6 or 7 years, I did not even remember her face but I used to keep in touch with her through emails. Since a young age I used to write her emails telling her about my life and she would always write back with updates about her life. She used to travel a lot and was truly a free spirit and I used to enjoy hearing about her stories a lot. And then there was this little tradition of ours that she would always send us Easter eggs and candy for Easter and I would always without fail send her an email wishing her Happy Easter. She would send this Easter egg no matter which part of the world she was in at that time. There has not ever been an Easter since I know her that I have not received an Easter egg. But this Easter was the last one.

I cannot believe that she is gone. How can the world be so cruel so as to kill her? She was one of the most kind, caring and compassionate human beings I know. If it weren’t for her, I don’t know what my mother would have done at the time of her divorce. And when my mother had to move on to a job that paid her better because  this job she had with this woman did not pay her enough to support us, she totally understood. She always had a smile on her face no matter what.

When I was a little kid, she gave me a stuffed toy, a monkey, that I used to love. In fact, I loved it so much that I would carry it with me everywhere I went. I still have it today and every time I see it, it just reminds me of her.

She raised her children up to be as compassionate and caring as she is. Her daughter is currently studying gender studies at university level and her son works with an NGO teaching sports to under privileged kids in rural India. The sad part is that because of the cruelty of the Taliban, she will never be able to see her kids again, she will miss out on so much in their lives and her children will always have that hole in their heart. I feel that it’s not fair for her to be taken away from this world for no fault of hers. She enjoyed travelling so much and she had so many more places she wanted to visit. She recently got her PHD and she was someone who truly enjoyed life. She had been telling me to meet up with her for a very long time. We would always plan to meet up but it would never happen because either she was busy or I was. We were going to definitely catch up this summer. I wish I had met up with her sooner.

Even though I don’t remember her much, I will miss her immensely and I will forever be indebted to her for everything she has done for us and for taking care of my mother the way she did even though she had no obligation to.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye

Leave a Reply

