What art means to me

Recently I read a post by Ciara about her relationship with art and it inspired me to write about my relationship with it. (It was an amazing article and you should definitely read it here) I have been interested in art since I was a little kid. Since I could hold a crayon, actually. And I have taken classes over the years, filled numerous art books, I have even kept some of my childhood art files. And I enjoy it, I love it, or at least I used to love it. I am not really sure anymore. So my mom is really keen on art and so she got me into it and I thought that I liked it but then when I had to choose my IB subjects, my mom wanted me to take art but I decided not to. I saw other people’s art and thought that I wasn’t good enough and my art would never be as good as others’. So that kind of brought me down and I stopped painting. And then only times I would do it was in the middle of the night when I was alone. And it helps me express myself and makes my head clear but I still stopped doing it. And I did not even seem to miss it. Until, I started doing it again this year. I thought I used to only do when I was younger because of my mom but I realized that I really do love it and I should have never stopped doing it. I still feel that I am not good enough at it but I am working on that. And I can only paint when I am in the mood, it not something I can do on demand. But well, I do it for myself and I feel good about it. So yeah, I think I am going to do it more often from now on.  Maybe I will post some of my artworks on here someday. Maybe.

One thought on “What art means to me

  1. This was a really interesting read! It sounds like we have a lot in common with art. I totally understand about taking a break and not missing it and not being able to just do it all the time. Definitely post some artwork! I would love to see it.
    And thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

