Slut.

Slut. It’s one simple word but can cause so much damage. Coming from someone who has been called a slut repeatedly for over a year, initially it hurts but then you realise how baseless that insult is. In fact why is it even an insult? According to the dictionary, slut means a woman who has many casual sexual partners. I don’t understand what the problem with having many sexual partners is. Why is it wrong as long as you are safe and it is something that you want?

I was called a slut for a year by my entire class. All because I told a guy that I liked him. Yeah, that made me a slut. It started off with me telling my best friend that I had a crush on a guy who was a mutual friend of ours. But this friend of mine, in turn spread it around the class. Initially I didn’t care but later she herself started dating this guy. Obviously I was upset with her and we had a huge fight and we stopped talking. Just before they started dating this friend of mine told this guy that I had a crush on him. He came to me and asked me if it was true. I got nervous and I told him that it was not true and he said, “Tell your friend not to lie”. So after this it went back to the way it was. I stopped talking to this friend of mine and the guy and I were still sort of friends. Soon after, there was a huge controversy and they split up. I do not know what happened there but this guy started calling this friend of mine a slut. I felt so betrayed by this friend of mine that we still did not talk. But slowly we started talking again and she apologized and I forgave her. And the stupid person that I am, I started trusting her again. At this time, I still had a thing for that guy. So after I started hanging out with her again, this guy started calling me a slut. And it really hurt. It was devastating for me to feel like the guy I was “in love” with hated me so much. I had had a crush on him for two years now. I ignored it and pretended that it did not bother me but it did bother me. A lot.

After this, another mutual friend of this guy and me started hanging out with me a lot. And we used to be really good friends earlier so it was all cool. She was quite close to this guy and there were even rumors that they were dating. I asked her about it and she was like I would never betray you like that and I know that you like him and all that shit. After I left that school I figured out that they were actually dating. Again, I was so confused and angry. Like why would someone lie to me like that. If you are dating someone I like, just tell me, it causes less pain then being lied to. It sucked. But now I am totally over it, except the fact that the word “slut” still makes me so angry! What did I do that was slutty? In fact I did not even sleep with one person, let alone having many casual sexual partners. And even if I did, how is that any of your business?

Why would you call anyone a slut? You want to sleep with many people? Great! You don’t want to sleep with anyone? Also great! It’s a person’s individual choice. How is it anyone’s right to judge someone else. Calling someone a slut is one of the most stupid insults I have ever heard! And why or how is slut even an insult??

Leave a Reply

